Okanagan College’s Board of Governors has a new chair and vice chair

Friday, November 22nd, 2019 1:07pm


Image Caption

Gloria Morgan and Juliette Cunningham

Gloria Morgan has been elected chair of the Okanagan College Board of Governors. This follows the resignation of Chris Derickson from the position, who left when he was elected chief of the Westbank First Nation.

Juliette Cunningham was elected vice chair, replacing Morgan.

“I’m looking forward to serving in this role,” said Morgan, who has been an RCMP officer, a general practice lawyer, and a Crown prosecutor. “With a new building and new programs about to come on stream, and work beginning on our next strategic plan, Okanagan College is at an exciting juncture.”

Morgan served as chief of the Splatsin Indian Band from 2001 to 2005. She is a former president of the Enderby and District Chamber of Commerce and was a member of the RCMP’s E Division Aboriginal Advisory Committee.

She also served on the board of the Provincial Community Co-ordination for Women's Safety. She was the 2016 recipient of the Community Leader Awards - Community Builder award for the North Okanagan. Morgan has been on the Board of Governors since 2016.

Juliette Cunningham is a former Vernon city councillor, as well as vice-chair of the Regional District of the North Okanagan, and vice-chair of the Okanagan Basin Water Board. She is a business owner with an extensive history of working with non-profit boards such as the Women’s Centre, Junction Literacy, People Place, Museum and the Early Years Council. Cunnigham was also named Vernon’s 2016 Woman of the Year by Vernon Women in Business.