National Reconciliation Council Interim board members named

Friday, December 15th, 2017 11:13am


Image Caption

Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild

Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild, a former Commissioner on the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, will chair the Interim Board of directors of the National Reconciliation Council.

Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs, made the announcement Dec. 14. Max FineDay, Mike DeGagné, Clint Davis, Edith Cloutier, and Jean Teillet make up the other members of the interim board.

The appointments will help advance Canada’s commitment to implementing the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action. Calls to action #53 and #54 for the establishment of a National Council for Reconciliation, and multi-year funding for the National Council and the endowment of a National Reconciliation Trust.

Over the next six months, the Board members will engage with various stakeholders to recommend options for the establishment of the National Council for Reconciliation and the endowment of a National Reconciliation Trust.

“It will take genuine collaboration at all levels to advance this journey,” said Bennett. “I look forward to receiving their concrete recommendations that will further the Government’s commitment to advancing reconciliation for the benefit of all Canadians.”