Eden Robinson short-listed for Giller Prize

Tuesday, October 3rd, 2017 11:53am


Eden Robinson’s "Son of a Trickster", published by Penguin Random House, has made the short list of books competing for the celebrated Scotiabank Giller Prize. Robinson was previously short-listed in 2000 for her book "Monkey Beach".

A member of the Haisla Nation in British Columbia, Robinson was born in Kitamaat and has roots in Heiltsuk. Others nominated for the Giller Prize are Rachel Cusk for "Transit", published by HarperCollins Canada; Ed O’Loughlin for "Minds of Winter" published by House of Anansi Press; Michael Redhill for "Bellevue Square", published by Penguin Random House; and Michelle Winters for "I Am a Truck", published by Invisible Publishing.

Cusk was previously shortlisted for the Giller for her novel "Outline" in 2015, Michael Redhill’s debut novel "Martin Sloane" made the 2001 shortlist. Michelle Winters and Ed O’Loughlin appear on the shortlist for the first time. Also represented for the first time is independent publisher Invisible Publishing based in Picton, Ont.

The five titles were chosen from a longlist of 12 books announced on Sept. 18. One hundred and twelve titles were submitted by 73 publisher imprints from across the country.

The winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize will be given an opportunity to explore, expand, and develop their practice during a two-week, self-directed residency in Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity’s exclusive Leighton Artists’ Studios. 

To celebrate this year’s shortlisted authors, a series of special readings will take place in Calgary on Oct. 12, Vancouver on Oct. 16, Halifax on Oct. 26, Ottawa on Nov. 1, Toronto on Nov. 6 and London, U.K. on Nov. 9.

Between the Pages: An Evening with the Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists will take you inside the minds and creative lives of the writers on the 2017 shortlist.

For venue and ticket information, please visit:


The 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize, hosted by Mary Walsh, will air live on CBC on Monday, Nov. 20 at 8 p.m. (12:30 AT/1:00 NT) and will be livestreamed at CBCBooks.ca. 

The gala will also air as a broadcast special on CBC Radio One at 8 p.m. (9 AT/9:30 NT), hosted by The Next Chapter’s Shelagh Rogers and CBC’s q books columnist Jael Richardson.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize, founded in 1994, highlights the very best in Canadian fiction. The prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists.

The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch, who passed away in August 2017.