Awards honour Métis entrepreneurs

Wednesday, April 4th, 2018 10:19pm


Image Caption

Metis Nation of Alberta President Audrey Poitras will provide a keynote speech at the awards event.

By Paula E. Kirman Contributor

The 20th annual Entrepreneurial Leadership Awards presented by the Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3 takes place on April 20 at the Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre in Calgary.

The awards recognize the entrepreneurial leadership of men, women, and youth, as well as categories for Business Recognition, Career Development, Industry, and Community Development.

“It is important to award the Métis people who are successful and contribute to the Métis Business community,  those who do well in the corporate world, and industry companies who continue to support us in all we do,” said Marlene Lanz, Region 3 president. “We also have a Youth Achievement Award, and recognize a community service agency that services the Métis people.”

Some of the many previous recipients include City of Calgary Alderman Ward Sutherland, who had done well in the corporate world, as well as Debra Fleck from Epiphany Chocolates in Calgary, Rod Stagg from Cougar Technical Services in Calgary, and Gil Ostrom of The Truck Shop in Lethbridge.

“We have so many successful Métis people who need to be recognized for their success,” said Lanz. The celebrations will include a keynote speech from MNA President Audrey Poitras, a presentation from Alta Link Métis Education Foundation, and entertainment from Richard Piche, Dorothy Walker, and others.

Nominations close April 6. Anyone can nominate someone, and self-nominations are also accepted.

For more information on nominations, tickets, and event sponsorship, contact the Region 3 office at 403-569-8800 or email